1st Unofficial ODI: Shardul, Kuldeep Sen As India A Thrash New Zealand A

An outstanding efficiency by medium-pacers Shardul Thakur (4 for 32) and Kuldeep Sen (3 for 30) helped arrange a seven-wicket win for India ‘A’ in opposition to New Zealand ‘A’ within the first unofficial ODI on Thursday. Despatched in to bat by India ‘A’ captain Sanju Samson, incisive bowling by Thakur and Sen had the visiting staff in bother from the beginning. At one stage, the New Zealanders appeared at risk of being bundled out for lower than 100 however some rearguard motion by Michael Rippon (61, 104 balls, 4 fours) and Joe Walker (36, 49 balls, 3 fours, 1 six) helped them put up 167 in 40.2 overs.

The Sanju Samson-led staff overhauled the goal set by the Kiwis in 31.5 overs with the captain (31 not out, 1 4, 3 sixes) and Rajat Patidar (45, 41 balls, 7 fours) ending the job.

There have been additionally helpful contributions from opener Ruturaj Gaikwad (41, 54 balls 3 fours, 2 sixes) and Rahul Tripathi (31, 40 balls, 4 fours).

Earlier, on a pitch providing tempo and bounce for the bowlers, Thakur struck the primary blow by castling Chad Bowes (10) with NZ ‘A’ at 14 within the third over. In his subsequent over, he had Dane Cleaver (4) caught by Sen.

Sen bought into the act by dismissing Joe Carter (1) and Rachin Ravindra (10) within the area of three balls to depart the Kiwis at 26 for 4.

In his subsequent over, Sen dismissed Tom Bruce for a duck to depart the opposition in shambles at 27 for five.

Captain Robert O’Donnell and Sean Solia bought all the way down to the job of resurrecting the innings and took the rating to 51 earlier than the latter was run out by Rishi Dhawan.

O’ Donnell batted for 39 balls for his 21 earlier than nicking one to ‘keeper Samson. Logan Van Beek (1) fell to Kuldeep Yadav and NZ ‘A’ slumped to 74 for 8.

Rippon was joined by off-spinner Walker and the duo slowly however certainly mounted a battle. Rippon was the extra cautious of the 2 and gathered runs and reached 50 from 82 balls.

No.10 batter Walker hit the primary six of the match within the twenty ninth over, slogging Shahbaz Ahmed over mid-wicket.

The duo took the rating previous 150 and appeared good for some extra earlier than Rajat Patidar’s throw from the quilt caught Walker wanting his crease. The Rippon-Walker partnership for the ninth wicket yielded 89 runs and gave respectively to the whole.

Rippon fell to Thakur for a well-compiled 61 because the Kiwis folded for 167.

In reply, Gaikwad batted in an enterprising method even because the often aggressive Prithvi Shaw (17, 24 balls, 1 six) was cautious.

Gaikwad hit a few boundaries and a six and saved the scoreboard ticking. Tripathi, who got here in after the dismissal of Shaw to Matthew Fisher, bought runs with out taking too many dangers.

Ruturaj missed out on a fifty, falling to a caught and bowled to left-arm spinner Rippon (1 for 28).

Medium-pacer Lorgan Verjus van Beek (1 for 38) bowled Tripathi earlier than Samson and Patidar took over and noticed the staff residence.

Patidar, who has been in good kind just lately and bought a ton within the unofficial Check in opposition to New Zealand ‘A’ performed some some engaging photographs in his unbeaten 45 (41 balls, 7 fours).

Samson completed the match with an enormous six.


Talking after the sport, Thakur, the star performer, stated he was shocked to see New Zealand lose 5 wickets within the PowerPlay. “Due to 9 AM begin, there was one thing within the air which we had been in a position to exploit,” he added.

Temporary Scores: New Zealand ‘A’ 167 all out in 40.2 overs (Michael Rippon 61, Joe Walker 36, Robert O’Donnell 22, Shardul Thakur 4 for 32, Kuldeep Sen 3 for 30) misplaced to India ‘A’ 170 for 3 in 31.5 overs (Rajat Patidar 45 not out, Ruturaj Gaikwad 41, Rahul Tripathi 31, Sanju Samson 29 not out).

Subjects talked about on this article

Leave a Comment