Dilip Tirkey Elected New Hockey India President

Former India captain Dilip Tirkey, who was the front-runner for the put up of Hockey India president, was elected unopposed for the highest job on Friday. Hockey India elections had been scheduled to be held on October 1 however the outcomes had been declared upfront as there have been no contestants for any of the posts, paving the best way for the incumbent candidates to be elected unopposed as per the federation’s Structure. Tirkey was elected after Uttar Pradesh Hockey chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand’s Bhola Nath Singh, who had been within the fray for the president’s put up, withdrew their nominations on Friday.

Bhola Nath has been elected unopposed as secretary common.

The Worldwide Hockey Federation (FIH) has authorised Tirkey and his crew’s appointments.

In a letter, the FIH mentioned that when the variety of contesting candidates for any put up is the same as or lower than the variety of posts, they shall be deemed to have been elected unopposed as per election by-laws on the Hockey India web site.

“Subsequently, we’re happy to look at that the Govt Board of Hockey India stands elected as has been placed on the web site of Hockey India and that the posts election was unanimous for all posts,” it mentioned.

The sport’s governing physique appreciated the efforts of the three-member Committee of Directors (CoA), which included Justice Anil R Dave, SY Quraishi and Zafar Iqbal, for easily conducting the election course of.

“We’re delighted that the election course of has been accomplished and a democratic physique is now in place. We prolong our congratulations to Dr Dilip Tirkey, Bhola Nath Singh and Sekar J Manoharan and look ahead to working with them carefully,” it added.

Tirkey took to twitter to thank the CoA and FIH and mentioned he’ll work in direction of taking Indian hockey to the subsequent degree.

“I’ll make sure that Indian hockey reaches to new heights,” he tweeted.

Bhola Nath mentioned he determined to withdraw his nomination for the president’s put up to allow an excellent participant like Tirkey to take up the reigns.

“I withdrew after due session with Dilip Tirkey. He’s a legend and now we have determined to work collectively for the great of Indian hockey. Our intention is to see India win the Olympic gold once more,” Bhola Nath instructed PTI.


“We will even work in direction of the event of the sport on the grassroot degree and make home hockey stronger.” The opposite non-contested members of Hockey India are Asima Ali (vice chairman) of Hockey Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka’s SVS Subramanya Gupta (vice chairman), Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu’s Sekar J Manoharan (treasurer), Hockey Rajasthan’s Arti Singh (joint secretary) and Hockey Haryana’s Sunil Malik (joint secretary).

The 5 government board members are Arun Kumar Sarswat (Hockey Rajasthan), Asrita Lakra (Hockey Jharkhand), Gurpreet Kaur (Delhi Hockey), V Sunil Kumar (Kerala Hockey) and Tapan Kumar Das (Assam Hockey).

Matters talked about on this article

Leave a Comment